Search Harris County    
   



   

Late Payments -- Notice to Defendants

Fines are due at the time you are convicted. In the event you are found guilty of the offense with which you are charged, you should make every effort to pay your fine in full immediately on conviction.

Additional $25.00 Fee:

If you pay any part of the fine and costs due on or after the 31st day after the date of the Judgment, you must pay a time payment fee of $25.00. (Tex. Code of Crim. Proc. Art. 103.003)

Additional 30% Collection Fee:
If you fail timely to pay the fine and costs, and the fine and costs are more than 60 days past due, the Court may refer this Judgment to private attorneys for collection. You will be charged a collection fee equal to 30% of the amount due. (Tex. Code of Crim. Proc. Art. 103.0031)

Denial of Renewal of Driver’s License and Additional $30 Fee:

If you fail to pay the fine and costs as directed, the Court may notify the Department of Public Safety to deny the renewal of your driver’s license. You will be required to pay an administrative fee of $30 prior to the renewal of your license. (Tex. Transp. Code §706.006)

Issuance of Warrant and Additional Fees:

If you fail to pay the fine and costs as directed, the Court may issue a capias pro fine ordering your arrest to be brought before the Court. You will be required to pay additional fees for the processing of this warrant and your arrest and release. (Tex. Code of Crim. Proc. Art. 102.011)

Denial of Vehicle Registration:

If you fail to pay the fine and costs as directed, the Court may notify the Texas Department of Transportation and the County Assessor-Collector to refuse to register or to renew the registration for your vehicle(s). You may be required to pay an additional fee to the County prior to registering your vehicles. (Tex. Transp. Code §502.185)

Appear in Court:

If the fine and costs are not paid in full when due, you are required to appear in court on the due date to provide an explanation for your failure to pay.

Your Failure To Pay On Time Will Cost You Additional Money

For example:  if the judgement on your case results in total fine and costs of $200.00:

If you fail to pay before 31 days, you will owe:
$225.00
If you are delinquent more than 60 days, and the judgment is referred for collection, you will owe:
$292.50
If you continue to be delinquent and DPS is notified to deny the renewal of your driver’s license, you will owe:
$322.50
If you continue to refuse to pay and a capias pro fine is issued ordering your arrest, you will owe:
$372.50

For more information about collections activities for delinquent court cases, see the website for the Texas Office of Court Administration.



General Information

This information is furnished to you to provide basic information relative to the law governing procedures in the Harris County Justice Courts.

The Harris County Justices of the Peace and the Clerks of the Harris County Justice Courts are not allowed to give legal advice. You are urged to review the applicable laws and to consult an attorney of your choice for further information or answers to specific legal questions.

Disclaimer: The law is constantly changing and there may be times when the information on this web site will not be current. This information is provided for general informational purposes only and is not intended as legal advice. This information is not a comprehensive treatment of the subject and is not a substitute for advice from an attorney.