Search Harris County    
   



   

Information about Criminal Cases

Convictions

If you plead guilty or no contest, or if you are found guilty after trial, you will be assessed a fine as punishment. You will also be responsible for court costs. Full payment of the fine and costs will satisfy your obligations in connection with the charge filed against you.

Time to Pay the Fine and Costs

If you must make arrangements for more time to pay your fine and court costs, you will need to make that request to the court.  You should be aware that the Court is required to impose an additional Time Payment Fee of $25 if the fine and costs are not paid in full before the expiration of 31 days. This fee is required by Article 103.033 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure.

Time to Pay and Time Payment Fee


If you need to make arrangements for more time to pay your fine and court costs, you will need to make that request to the court. If you request to pay over a period of more than thirty (30) days, a $25.00 Time Payment Fee will be assessed. This fee is required by Article 103.033 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure.

Failure to Pay the Fine and Costs

Collection Fee: If the fine and costs are more than sixty (60) days past due, the court may refer your case to a private attorney or vendor for collection services. A collection fee equal to 30% of the amount due will be added. This fee is allowed under Article 103.0331 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure.

Issuance of Capias Pro Fine: If you fail to pay the fine and costs as directed, the court may issue a capias pro fine commanding a peace officer to bring you before the court or place you in jail until you can be brought before the court. You will be required to pay additional fees in connection with the issuance of the capias pro fine and your release. These fees are required by Article 102.011 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure.

Confinement in Jail to Discharge Fine and Costs: If you intentionally fail to make a good faith effort to discharge the judgment, you may be committed to the Harris County Jail until the judgment is discharged by serving a sufficient length of time to satisfy the fine and costs owed.

Denial of Renewal of Driver's License: If you fail to pay the fine and costs as directed, the court may notify the Department of Public Safety to deny the renewal of your driver's license. You will be required to pay an administrative fee of $30 prior to the renewal of your license. This fee is required by Section 706.006 of the Texas Transportation Code.

Denial of Registration of Vehicle: If the fine and costs are past due, the court may notify the Texas Department of Transportation to refuse to register your vehicle. You may be required to pay an additional fee to the county prior to registering your vehicle.

More Information about Criminal Cases >>

 



General Information

This information is furnished to you to provide basic information relative to the law governing procedures for criminal cases in the Harris County Justice Courts.

The Harris County Justices of the Peace and the Clerks of the Harris County Justice Courts are not allowed to give legal advice. You are urged to review the applicable laws and to consult an attorney of your choice for further information or answers to specific legal questions.

You have the right to a trial by a jury and to be represented by an attorney of your choice, or to represent yourself.

Disclaimer: The law is constantly changing and there may be times when the information on this web site will not be current. This information is provided for general informational purposes only and is not intended as legal advice. This information is not a comprehensive treatment of the subject and is not a substitute for advice from an attorney.